Reviews

Holiday Home - Rating 4/5

Great location and our cottage was really very suitable for us. Wonderful, peaceful surroundings off the local main road.

Reviewer:Brian Shears | Wed 31st Aug 2016


Superb - Rating 5/5

We couldn\'t of asked more from the cottage and its owner. We had a lovely stay, lovely breakfasts and wonderful views, (when it wasn\'t raining!) Thank you Joy, for a great two days.

Reviewer:David Richards | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Haven of tranquility in the Brecon Beacons - Rating 5/5

The peace, tranquility, the friendly hens who would come and greet us each time we arrived or left.We stayed at the cottage and took advice from previous guest comments about the distance from places to eat.The kitchenette was well provided with cereals, jams, tea, coffee and milk provided and fridge, microwave, + oven for self catering.Although there are no shops or pubs in Pont Senni or Crai,Brecon is only 15 minutes drive away.Lovely country walks around the area.Large wet room + for longer staying guests washing machine and tumble drier in the garage.Recycling is positively encouraged.After some frankly rude comments about the owner, Joy, we were expecting either Basil Fawlty or Father Stone (Father Ted)- Joy was neither - she was helpful without being intrusive and from comments in the guest book we will not be the only couple who will return in the future.

Response

Pleased to receive your Review and your short stay was enjoyable and hope, if you should return, the weather will be a little kinder.Many ThanksJoy

Reviewer:Anne Blair | Sun 21st Aug 2016


maelswater- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation.Great scenery and views. Loved the chickens! Just need to get dvd sorted!

Reviewer:Paul Gough | Tue 16th Aug 2016


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Our time was very pleasant. Views pretty, people very amable. Good room. Breakfast complete and quality food. Bed confortable. Information about the park very complete. If I can I recomended this bed and breakfast

Reviewer:María Del Mar Giménez Salinas | Tue 9th Aug 2016


Refuge - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed the break from city life. We seriously thought of putting in an offer to buy this cottage. My wife fell in love with the friendly Chuck\'s!

Reviewer:Michael Pozzi | Mon 25th Jul 2016


What a pleasure - Rating 5/5

Wonderful quiet place. Joy was very forthcoming, as my husband needs gluten-free diet.

Reviewer:Zuzana Viktoriová | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Cottage - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed in the cottage and once again it was perfect. It has everything we need and more. The interior is excellent and the outside area is just as good providing you have some sunshine.

Response

Hi Kevin and ClaireThank you for the review and pleased to hear you have enjoyed another long weekend. Lets hope the next one January 2017 will be as good. Cannot promise fine warm sunny weather but the cottage will be waiting for your arrival warm and cosy.Best Wishes Joy.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin Stokes | Tue 5th Jul 2016


Great location, very friendly owner - Rating 4/5

Lovely comfortable little cottage with wonderful views and a great location.Very friendly owner, who sells the best eggs we have ever tasted. Great shower room. Well equipped kitchen and laundry room. Only negative, could do with a larger tv. Would definitely go back.

Response

Thank you and hope to see you again.Joy

Reviewer:Lou Manning | Mon 13th Jun 2016


For visit in May - Rating 5/5

Joy is a lovely person and the room was beautiful. Highly recommend for comfort and beautiful views.

Response

Hello Ridhima,Thank you for your review and your remarks.Hope to see you again sometime.Regards Joy

Reviewer:Ridhima Bhasin | Tue 31st May 2016


Charming place - Rating 5/5

We stayed for three days and wished we could stay more! The place is a jam. Very comfortable and peaceful. Free jam, milk, cornflakes in the kitchen were pleasant surprises. The owner Joy was very helpful. We could have our BBQ in the yard behind the castle while enjoying the views.

Response

Hello Ksenia,Thank you for your review.Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were lucky with the weather to have a BBQ in the evening.Hope to see you again sometime.RegardsJoy

Reviewer:Ksenia Nebrat | Tue 31st May 2016


excellentcottage- Rating 5/5

Clean comfortable warm and cosy accommodation. Centrally located. Owner very helpful and insists that you make it your home. Peaceful snd tranquil location. Shame we had to go home back to reality.

Response

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again possibly when the weather is a little better.

Reviewer:Frances Thomas | Thu 26th May 2016


The best Band B in Wales - Rating 5/5

We spent a long weekend here to walk in the Beacons. This is the second time we have stayed and were lucky enough to get the annex which was just as comfortable as the rooms with more space and private dining! really good value, excellent food, good situation(if a bit tricky to find on satnav!) Friendly landlady, peace and quiet what more can you ask? Highly recommend this to everyone but especially walkers.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet Glaze | Sat 20th Feb 2016


Perfect for a short stay - Rating 4/5

Perfect for a short stay.Friends stayed in the B& B so joined us in the evening.Plenty of breakfast supplies included.Limited storage for clothes if staying any length of time.Hope to return.

Reviewer:Jane Jeeves | Fri 11th Dec 2015


Perfect country accommodation.- Rating 5/5

Lovely setting. Nice cooked breakfast, sheep in the field outside. Chickens and some great woodpeckers too! Right in the heart of a lovely green valley. A very comfortable bed and everything as clean as you could hope for. Perfect for getting away from the Internet and the rest of the world. Thank you!

Response

Hi Chris,Thank you for your review and you both enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again sometime in the future.Best Wishes, Joy

Reviewer:Chris Staples | Sat 20th Jun 2015


Lovely break in the Brecon Beacons - Rating 5/5

Joy is a very friendly and welcoming host! We spent our first night in the house and our second night in the cottage both of which were lovely and we were supplied with a lovely range of teas and coffees. Joy prepared us a very nice and filling breakfast including fresh eggs laid by the hens in the garden roaming freely and she made us a packed lunch for our long day hiking. It\'s a beautiful location, very peaceful and perfectly situated for many walks and hikes. We had travelled to The Brecon Beacons for the weekend for the incredible dark skies for stargazing, Maeswalter was perfect for this as it was very close to the Brecon Beacons National Park Visitor Centre and also had very little light pollution and plenty of area to stargaze in the early hours outside the cottage. All in all we had an incredible stay here and will definitely be returning in the near future!

Response

Thank you for your review and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.Two girls arrived whilst you were here who just had to come and explore The Brecon Beacons after seeing the first programme of three different areas on BBC1 Secret Britain.The next date for Stargazing is 12th and 13th August may see you then.

Reviewer:Jodi Waldron | Mon 20th Apr 2015


A diamond in Brecon - Rating 5/5

I booked into the Holiday Cottage attached to Maeswalter whilst I was in Brecon for work training.The cottage exceeded my expectations and had everything in that I wanted, including a hairdryer, shower gel, tea and coffee and all the utensils you could need.the cottage was well maintained with underfloor heating and was very cosy.On the first couple of nights there were clear skies and the view of the stars was stunning.As a single female I felt very safe in the location and had a restful and relaxing stay.The only thing I would have liked was Wi-Fi as there is no reception but this can also be beneficial in itself for relaxation.I hope to return to Maeswalter and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to visit the area

Response

Hello Tracey pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Bryn Melyn and everything was there that you needed and the weather was excellent with no rain for the five nights you booked.You mentioned the journey took forever when you arrived. Hope returning home it didn\'t seem quite so far, .I do have WiFi which can be effected by the weather.Heavy rain will block out the signal and there is a codeMany ThanksJoy..

Reviewer:Tracey Daniel | Sun 19th Apr 2015


Lovely in every way - Rating 5/5

The location of Maeswalter is superb. It\'s set deep in the South Wales countryside but only a few miles from Brecon. There\'s nothing quite like waking up to the sound of birdsong & lambs! The accommodation itself was excellent, we lacked for nothing & indeed it surpassed our expectations. Breakfast was sumptuous to say the least with a choice of full English, cereals, toast, yoghurt & juice as well as plenty tea & coffee.You even get serenaded by a \"singing\"cat sometimes!I can not recommend this B& B highly enough. Our main reason to choose this place was that it\'s dog friendly & Haggis enjoyed his stay as much as we did. We had a warm welcome from the owner Joy & would definitely stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your review. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your three nights and you would like to return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kenna Stewart | Wed 15th Apr 2015


A wonderful experience in the Maeswalter - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for two nights which expressed us so much. Beautiful sky with stars and warm bed and delicious breakfast.The room itself was tastefully decorated and offered everything one needs. The landlady is very friendly and so nice to pick us up at the bus station of Brecon.We hope to come back again!

Response

Thank you so much glad you enjoyed your stay. I have emailed the dates for Stargazing.

Reviewer:Qiong Wu | Tue 24th Feb 2015


A great little cottage - Rating 4/5

A well equipped converted barn which enables you to be fully self contained. The kitchen is complete with everything you need. It is within easy driving distance of Brecon and close to the National Park Information Centre. There are several walking trails within a short car ride and the views from the cottage are stunning.

Response

The cottage must have been a relief after getting lost trying to find it. It is central for all amenities and walks can be enjoyed of the panoramic views around the Senni Valley leaving the car behind.

Reviewer:Alan Prince | Mon 6th Oct 2014


AMAZING LOCATION - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the holiday cottage - what a beautiful location, just what we needed to chill out and relax from the everyday stresses. Our wonderful Sprocker enjoyed his stay too - and even managed to wear him out from a 15 mile hike we did from the cottage up and over Fan Frynych. Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning in the near future.

Reviewer:Lauren Foster | Sun 21st Sep 2014


Find peace and quiet in stunning scenery - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I had a wonderful weekend at Measwalter, enjoying a fabulous walk completing the Pen-y-Fan horseshoe. We had a wonderfully friendly welcome at a cottage which is comfortable, peaceful and in a wonderfully beautiful and remote location. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable and the breakfasts were generous and tailored to each guests taste. Our packed lunches were thoughtfully prepared and perfect for walkers. We will be back.

Reviewer:Geoffrey Emerson | Mon 7th Jul 2014


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

This was an absolute perfect little B& B. Exactly what a B& B should be like. Joy was the typical British B& B landlady, and her hospitality was wonderful.

Reviewer:Daniel Green | Mon 2nd Jun 2014


ideal stay at maeswalter - Rating 4/5

Really lovely stay, ideal accommodation for me and young children in a beautiful location. Would recommend, and hope to return.

Response

Hello Kerry,Thank you for your review and you and the children enjoyed your short stay. Good Luck with the new horse and I am sure it is going to a happy new home.Joy

Reviewer:Mrs. Kerry Jenkinson | Mon 12th May 2014


Maeswalter Chalet - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay and found the chalet a perfect location for our walking holiday in the Brecons. The rooms were clean, well equipped and the little extras of milk, tea, coffee extra added a very nice touch. The shower was particularly good and most welcome after a hard days walking. There were ample facilities locally (within a few miles) for all our other needs including dinners out All in all I have no hesitation in recommending this for any couple looking for a quiet base on the edge of the Brecons

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Fitzhenry | Sat 31st Aug 2013


Relaxing - Rating 4/5

What a lovely welcome and lovely time we had on our weekend away.Thank you Joy for making us welcome and giving us a lovely private holiday.Thankyou also to your son for all the information he gave for walks etc.

Response

Thank you for your review.Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and managed to do some walks despite the weather.Hope to see you again.Joy

Reviewer:Ms. Kerry Cooper | Fri 10th May 2013


Pierre - Rating 4/5

Lovely location. A very enjoyable stay! Highly recommended for a quiet peaceful getaway.

Response

Thank you for your review and you both enjoyed your stay. Hoping the self-catering cottage will be available if you should decide to come again. When making your next batch of marmalade do not forget the Whisky for the orange and Brandy for the lemon/lime or grateful.Joy

Reviewer:Mr. Pierre Bruwer | Wed 8th May 2013


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Me and my partner stayed in the holiday cottage for 2 nights. The cottage was well equipped and spotlessly clean. This is a fantastic base for exploring the Brecon Beacons and we would not hesitate to stay here again in the future. Joy was a perfect host.

Reviewer:Miss. Samantha Bucknall | Mon 19th Nov 2012


Excellent cottage - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely romantic break at this peaceful cottage in beautiful surroundings. There was everything we needed - great power shower and modern kitchen. We visited a restaurant recommended by the owner and it didn't disappoint - the food was excellent. We shall return!

Reviewer:Mrs. Alice Mcmahon | Mon 13th Aug 2012


Beautiful area - Rating 4/5

The owner was very welcoming, breakfast excellent and a peaceful location, if only the weather had been better!

Response

Thank you for your review and I always try to make visitors welcome at all times.Do hope you enjoyed your visit to the Gower - if only I could have done something regarding the weather - we have had some very high winds and heavy rain.Hope you arrived home safely - perhaps next time the weather might be kinder - as there is still a lot more to explore around the Brecon Beacons.Joy

Reviewer:Mrs. Eileen Pitman | Sun 11th Sep 2011


Peaceful Maeswalter - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel very welcome by Mrs. Mayo. The site of Maeswalter is outstanding, well off the beaten track but easy to find, quiet, calm and peaceful, an idyllic spot. Breakfasts were excellent and presented with special thought and care.We had a wonderful few days.

Response

Thank you for your review and your remarks on your stay at "Maeswalter" was enjoyable.Do hope to see you again and next time the weather better as there is a lot of the Brecon Beacons still leftto explore.Best WishesJoy.

Reviewer:Mr. John Brinded | Sat 3rd Sep 2011


Extra Information

  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Self Catering
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Family Rooms
  • Ironing Service
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat

No changes to or cancellation of bookings are accepted. Refunds are not available.